Microsoft MVP Summit 2012: Reports from MrExcel in Redmond, Volume 2.2.1

March 1, 2012 at 8:59 pm 1 comment


A report from Bill “MrExcel” Jelen landed in my inbox today; he is sending us updates about the goings on at the Microsoft MVP Summit 2012, in Redmond, Washington this week. This report is for February 29, 2012.

I am learning a lot about my iPhone here at the Microsoft iPhone Summit!  TWO new tricks on day 2. I started out the day learning a new trick for accessing alternate keys from the keyboard. Did you know if you click and hold the period key on your keyboard, a tiny menu pops up with alternate keys?  This happens with many keys. Try it!

I ended the day with a strict tutorial on how to quickly get the iPhone to take a picture from the front-facing camera, administered by Teylyn.  With German precision, she instructed, “Click the top button, double click center button, then here, then there, and then this button”.
I feel as confused as when I show a newbie how to double-click the Fill Handle to shoot a Formula down. Teylyn also provided a hot Sparkline tip which I will show on the Learn Excel from MrExcel webcast next week. On a similar note, I did get a nice walk-through of a Windows 7 phone, so it is nice that I can get tips about all phones here.

And, I did see more jaw-dropping features about Excel – none of which I can discuss…just yet. 

[But the real Jaw-Dropper…? Read on…]

Microsoft Office: Mac 2011

I left the Microsoft Company Store with less cash in my wallet and a large bag of Microsoft logo product, as well as a bright yellow box of something I thought I would never own. [Bill included a note to his Learn Excel from MrExcel followers: ” To all those people who asked me to do mac podcasts, I’ve taken the first step“]

 

 
Also, Clippy was removed from Office after 2003. Let’s call that 8 years. Is that really long enough for him to reappear on a Retro Ringer t-shirt??? Well, I bought into it.

I placed my bet in the pool for when Office 2012 will release to manufacturing. 

 

 

 

I think I signed two new book deals at the Excel product dinner last night,  with a pitch for a third book deal last night at the Rock Bottom Brewery. 

Entry filed under: Bill Jelen, Excel 2010 In Depth, Learn Excel 2007 through Excel 2010, Learn Excel 2010, Learn Excel from MrExcel, Live Events, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft MVP Summit 2012, MrExcel Podcast, MrExcel Products, New MrExcel Publication, Office 15. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Microsoft MVP Summit 2012: Reports from MrExcel in Redmond, Volume 2.2 Dueling Excel – “Record Fill Down- Part Due(l)x”: Podcast #1524

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. teylyn  |  March 1, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    Nice summary, Bill! All those iPhone taps were only required to figure out what version of iOS your phone is running. So, for everyone on iOS 5: double tap the home button to wake up the phone and you will see a camera icon on the home screen. Tap it and shoot your picture. :-))

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Learn Excel from MrExcel

Learn Excel Podcast Splash Screen

The Excel Beginners Book:

"Don't Fear The Spreadsheet" - by Tyler Nash, Bill Jelen, Tom Urtis and Kevin Jones

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 683 other subscribers

Live Lessons Excel 2010 DVD

"Live Lessons Excel 2010" DVD

RSS MrExcel Recent Articles

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

MrExcel Podcast Archive