Learn Excel from MrExcel – “Dynamic Range Without OFFSET”: Podcast #1632

January 28, 2013 at 3:17 pm 3 comments


Today, a new podcast series: “Things that I Learned at Trainertage“, by Bill ‘MrExcel’ Jelen.

I spent a week in Lucerne Switzerland at the 8th annual Trainer Days. This is a team of Microsoft Office Trainers who began getting together once a year to teach each other new tricks in Office. Today, they allow others to attend. I was their guest speaker for Trainertage 2013. Now, the obvious problem: I don’t speak German. But they were patient. I spoke slowly, and everyone got along well. My friend Tony Dejonker helped with translation during my first session, but it was decided that my “Slow English” was good enough for the remaining three sessions.

First observation: doing training for other trainers is tougher than my normal sessions. I always learn a new trick or two from the audience in a normal session; usually someone in row 2 shows me up. I expect it, and have a prize for it. At Trainertage, it was less than 1 minute and 30 seconds into my presentation when the first trick came from row 2, and more flooded in from row 2 all night. Some even from row 1 and row 3!

Second observation: When I would watch another trainer’s session in Deutsch, I would learn new stuff. I couldn’t understand the language, but I would pick up things that I had not seen in the U.S. These new friends of mine all learned from books in German and attended their own sessions and had learned a whole new set of tricks. I joked that I was going to steal these for the podcast, and they were all cool with that. “It is not stealing, it is sharing”. They learned from me, and I learned from them.

In my first episode of Things That I Learned at Trainertage, I lead off with a trick from the mother of Trainertage; Tanja Kuhn. Yes, you might be smart enough to build a dynamic range using OFFSET and COUNTA, but you won’t have to anymore with this clever twist on using Ctrl+T. Today, in Episode #1632, Bill shows us a new dimension in Dynamic Ranges.

…This blog is the video podcast companion to the book, Learn Excel 2007 through Excel 2010 from MrExcel. Download a new two minute video every workday to learn one of the 512 Excel Mysteries Solved! and 35% More Tips than the previous edition of Bill’s book!

“The Learn Excel from MrExcel Podcast Series”

Visit us: MrExcel.com for all of your Microsoft Excel Needs!

Entry filed under: 2013, Accounting, Bill Jelen, Excel, Excel 2010, Excel for Educators, Excel for Students, Excel For Teachers, Excel in Education, For Educators, FREE, Learn Excel 2007 through Excel 2010, Learn Excel 2010, Learn Excel from MrExcel, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Excel 2010, MrExcel, MrExcel Podcast, MrExcel Products, New MrExcel Publication. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Dueling Excel – “Three LOOKUPS!”: Podcast #1631 Learn German from MrExcel…? Uh…Really?

3 Comments

Trackback this post


Learn Excel from MrExcel

Learn Excel Podcast Splash Screen

The Excel Beginners Book:

"Don't Fear The Spreadsheet" - by Tyler Nash, Bill Jelen, Tom Urtis and Kevin Jones

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 738 other followers

Live Lessons Excel 2010 DVD

"Live Lessons Excel 2010" DVD

RSS MrExcel Recent Articles

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Recent MrExcel Tweets

MrExcel Podcast Archive


